The Value of College?

College? What do you really gain besides a better shot at material wealth? A lot.

It is a brief, peaceful respite before the onslaught of the real world. It is the transition from adolescence to adulthood. College, at least for me, had lessons for the rest of my life.

Despite preparing to go into healthcare with a set of requirements, I majored in history. I studied the history of all kinds of things. Science, Russia. Germany. The city. The Renaissance and Reformation. The world. It broadened and deepened me.

I dated women in a more serious vein. It was not always just puppy love. I had my heart broken. It was exceedingly painful. But that also deepened and broadened me.

Were my four years of time and money wasted beyond the greater chance to accumulate stuff? No. By the grace of God, the years had a real impact on my overall sense of well-being. College amplified my zest for knowledge, for reading, for writing and for relationship. At it’s core it enhanced my search for truth