Quiet

I once spent some time at Lake Shasta in the dead of winter. It’s a beautiful “lake” in northern California. It’s actually a reservoir that began to store water 76 years ago.  The so called lake is ten miles north of Redding.

As I stood there by that body of water, other than the sound of occasionally, melodious birds, the air was devoid of oscillations, waves, or flutter. There was a peace about that respite that to some extent is indescribable.

My senses were at rest. My mind was spinning ever so slowly. It almost stopped in the quiet of the moment.

Some things in the rush of our lives are just sacred and are not appreciated until they are experienced. One doesn’t forget a moment like that. It was a divine gift for which I am ever so thankful. It was deeply quiet time by the sweet grace of God.

One thought on “Quiet

Leave a comment